They don’t hear the planes?

I have two friends in Forest Hills, fellow magazine folks. One has been here more than 10 years, the other more like 6 years.

I’ve asked them both: “Does the noise of the planes wake you up in the morning?”

Friend no. 1 said, “Oh no. We have allergies and keep the windows shut. I never hear them.”
Friend no. 2 said, “No. We’re off Jewel Avenue, so the buses bother us, but not the planes.”

I didn’t hear the planes the first two days I lived here or most of the weekend.

Then, Sunday night, when my husband and I were trying to watch “Jekyll,” this fantastic BBCA mystery/sci fi show, came the roaring. Spaced apart like labor pains. One would grow…and grow…and peak. Arrghhhh. Then fade. But here comes the next one.

Luckily, we had “Jekyll” on DVR. Because this is a complicated mystery with multiple timelines and strong British accents. Just when the secret history of Dr. Tom Jackman (aka Jekyll) was being revealed, here comes Continental Flight 87 out of Chicago. Actors’ lines drowned out. Stop. Start. Stop. Pause.

Next morning: 6 a.m. Planes again! I have young children so it’s pretty much time to wake up anyway.

I guess when it gets colder I will shut windows too. But I’m an open-the-window kind of person until the temp dips below 60.

Or will I get used to it?

Published in: on August 23, 2007 at 8:30 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://queensbroad.wordpress.com/2007/08/23/they-dont-hear-the-planes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I grew up in FH and never had a problem with the plane noise, but I was living in a private home. Now I live on the 8th floor in a canyon of apartment buildings, and the planes seem much louder. They WERE loud Sunday night, weren’t they? I had to keep saying, “Wait,” during phone conversations.

    Fortunately, the airlines vary their flight patterns, so sometimes you’ll hear them for a few days straight and then you won’t hear them much for weeks.

  2. Get some binoculars and teach your kids how to tell a 747 from an Airbus. That’s what my dad did with us when we were kids here, (but with DC10’s and L1011’s…)


Leave a comment